Now that the marathon is over, which is like my official start of summer, I have been thinking of what I am going to be doing.  Running wise that is.  Here is what I have on the calendar thus far:

Sunday, June 10 – Winthrop Marathon.  The only goal I have is to get the star.  Race Director James has fashioned his finisher medals to look like marshal badges from the Old West.  Pretty darn cool.  Keep an eye for a picture of mine.

Saturday, June 23 – Thanks to Brooks Running and the Inspire Daily Program, which I am a member of, I have a free entry into the Rock n Roll Seattle Marathon.  Hubba hubba.  The course reminds me of the old Emerald City Marathon Course back in 86 or so.  I will be toeing the line with about a million other runners who will run and listen to a bunch of rock bands spread out over 26  miles.  I’ll have fun.  Maybe I’ll go in costume.  Slash??

Wednesday, July 4 – Firecracker 5000.  It’s a race I don’t run, but I am co-Race Director.  This event is always fun.  Held before the Friday Harbor Parade.  8:00 am start time and $10 for adults.

Saturday, July 28 – The Art Dash Half Marathon in Anacortes.  This course is flat as a pancake except for one very large hill about half way.  Great event to work on one’s speed.

Sunday, July 29 – Chuckanut Mountain 30K.  Oh yes, a back to back to the Art Dash- which sounds fun.  A new event by Bellingham Trail Running, it’s like running the Chuckanut 50K, without the flat parts.  Meaning, there are some hills to climb.  Like once a year isn’t enough.

Saturday, August 18 – The Loop Run.  Ok, my secret is I am going to win this puppy.  I might not actually win the event, but I am gonna give it a good try.  As my mom used to say “At least get a E for effort”.  8.8 K of pure fun.

Sunday, October 7 – Portland Marathon.  Portland is always a nice event to participate in.  Nice views of the city, pacer groups, good treats and a nice way to see Portland.

Well, that is about it for races.  Thus far at least.  Sometimes I think that there are so many cool and exciting events here in the Pacific Northwest, it’s hard to pick which one to do.  Like being at a Chinese Buffet.  Well, at least I’m gonna have egg rolls.

Run Happy, Run Hard

Clark

